Finally …. Some Jimmy Raney Clips on Youtube!

January 7, 2008

Nicolai Foss

As if underscoring the exclusivity of Raney’s playing, he has been absent from YouTube until very recently. Here are “Just Friends” and “These Foolish Things,” both played in the company of Cal Collins, a very fine player but not of Raney’s greatness. The real highlight is, however, a wonderful duo with Attila Zoller, clearly a very kindred spirit. The first two clips are from 1987, and I suspect the clip with Zoller is more recent.

2 Responses to “Finally …. Some Jimmy Raney Clips on Youtube!”


  1. Hi Nicolai. I just noticed that you gave my clip of Jimmy and Attila a nice mention. I have another from that set but it’s a few seconds too big for Youtube. I’ll look for another video host as get it up as soon as I can. Take care and all the best.

    Lyle

  2. Nicolai Foss Says:

    My pleasure, Lyle. Pls do inform me when you upload the other clip. BTW, when were these clips made?


Leave a Reply

