Snoozer Quinn

August 23, 2007

Nicolai Foss

Here are some takes with the mysterious Snoozer Quinn (1906-1952), recorded when Snoozer was fatally ill and hospitalized. His style is rough (even accounting for the bad recording), and sort of pre-Langean.

3 Responses to “Snoozer Quinn”

  1. scottblack Says:

    Greetings All,

    I noticed on your list that there were quite a few people interested in Snoozer Quinn. And rightly so, Snoozer was one of the greatest players of all time! The reason for this post is that I started a small CD label about a year ago, just for collectors of the really rare stuff. I have about 70,000 old records going back to the 1890’s. But I’ve always looked for acetates and home recordings of any type, and I’ve been doing this for close to 40 years now. I’ve spent the past quarter century touring and playing the cornet with Leon Redbone, and I just quit last month. And I spent a good deal of time on the road scrounging around flea markets and antique shops digging up more goodies. I spent 10 years living in New Orleans and around 1990 I rescued a huge box of old home recordings recorded between 1942 to 1952. They were falling apart and just horrible shape. But I’ve managed to piece quite a few back together. And I was able to salvage pieces of a couple of song that has Snoozer soloing!
    And it’s just amazing! The sound quality is so-so, but given the condition of the recording it’s as good as it can get without compromising the sound. I put up Snoozer’s chorus on “After You’ve Gone” as a sample for those would like to give it a listen. I may have others with him on them, but this is what I have so far. The other New Orleans sides on these CD’s are great as well. I don’t do any re-issues at all. I just want to put out sides that have never been heard before. And I have a ton of them! So, if you’d like to check them out just go to Kazoolips.com and click on the label that says NEW ORLEANS JAZZ ACETATES – VOLUME 2, and this will take you to the page with a “new” solo from Snoozer Quinn. He was everything they said he was and more!

    Scott Black
    Kazoolips.com

  2. Joe Yount Says:

    Great to hear from you Mr. Black. Just saw Leon Redbone here in Nashville with John Prine. Leon had his usual photo of Nick Larocca and schooled the audience on who he was. Really enjoyed seeing him in person. Would have given anything to have been able to have a word with him or photo with him. You guys are national treasures. Is there anyway to write to Leon? I know he closely gaurds his privacy, but was thinking maybe I could send it to his record company or something? My son is growing up listening to Leon, Jelly Roll and any other 78’s I can get my hands on. I restore old (30’s, 40’s and 50’s) jukeboxes as a hobby and have a few that play 78’s. I really enjoy watching the kids eyes light up listening to some of these great songs on an old jukebox. How can I purchase some of your cd’s? Respectfully yours, Joe Yount.

    • Joe Yount Says:

      P.S. My dad has an old wire recorder that has some great stuff on it also. My grandfather, relative and older radio that was recorded on wire.


Leave a Reply

